53 SEA Students Competed in the Varsity College Squash Season  

It was another successful college squash season for the SEA network, as 53 students competed at a varsity level. Students from 13 SEA programs played on the varsity roster at 19 colleges and universities. 12 students played at Connecticut College, six at St. Lawrence, five at Mount Holyoke, four at Chatham, three at both Wesleyan and Hobart. Other college teams with SEA students include Amherst, Bates, Bowdoin, Colby, Denison, Dickinson, Middlebury, Rochester, Stanford, Trinity, Vassar, William Smith, and Williams.

Of 16 SEA seniors who played a varsity level, half of them captained their school teams, including Access Youth Academy’s Joyce Chan at Trinity, RacquetUp Detroit’s Jaz’mene Little at Denison and Aaron Levy at St. Lawrence, and Squash Haven’s Janiqua Davis at Mount Holyoke. Notably, all four of Connecticut College’s co-captains hailed from the SEA network, including CitySquash’s Tanya Mendoza, SquashBusters’s Angela Cao, StreetSquash’s Leslie Gonzalez, and Squash Haven’s Juan Hurtado

Seniors Zeinab Bakayoko of StreetSquash and Joyce Chan of Access Youth Academy played on the #2 ranked Trinity team, and first-years Brett Poles of SquashWise and Keyel Beasley  of Steel City Squash played for #13 ranked Chatham. 

“Our students from SEA programs have had an incredible impact on our program,” says Connecticut College Head Coach Scott Brown. “We had four SEA students graduate in 2023, all of them were captains and top 9 players. Angela Cao, SquashBusters alum, received the Andrew H. Chait Service Award for her leadership, dedication, and service to the Connecticut College Department of Athletics. We are excited to continue to have a large SEA presence with half of our team consisting of SEA alums for the 23-24 season and look forward to welcoming Julio Palomino of Squash Urbano Colombia and Gwyneth Perez of SquashHaven.”

20 SEA players were first-year students. We are so grateful to have had first-year players Brett Poles of SquashWise, Keyel Beasley and Amari Spivey of Steel City Squash, and Ta’Niya-Marie Nored of Racquet up Detroit this past season,” says Chris Fernandez, Chatham’s Head Squash Coach and CitySquash alum. “Their leadership and work ethic brought a lot to the team and we are looking forward to welcoming Obed Garcia of SquashWise next season.” Ta’Niya and Amari played 6 and 8 consistently on the team, leading the women’s team to win the Most Improved Team Award while Brett and Keyel combined for a 6-0 record in matches in the top 9. 

In total, 265 SEA high school graduates have played college squash — 78 on a club team and 187 at a varsity level.  In addition to the 53 varsity players, 19 SEA students competed for club teams at at Boston College, Boston University, Clark, University of Connecticut, Dartmouth, George Washington, Georgetown, Johns Hopkins, Lehigh, Northeastern, University of Pennsylvania, and University of Virginia.

Meet all the Varsity SEA’s 2022-2023 College Squash players below:


Jesse Brew
Amherst College, CitySquash

Victoria Haghighi
Bates College, CitySquash

Dainalee Velez
Bates College, CitySquash

Edwardo Perez
Bowdoin College, Squash Haven

Keyel Beasley
Chatham University, Steel City Squash

Ta’Niya-Marie Nored 
Chatham University, Racquet Up Detroit

Brett Poles
Chatham University, SquashWise

Amari Spivey
Chatham University, Steel City Squash

Karla Domingues
Colby College, CitySquash

Alan Lopez
Colby College, CitySquash

Angela Cao
Connecticut College, SquashBusters

Crystal Dixon
Connecticut College, MetroSquash

Karen Escalera
Connecticut College, Squash Haven

Leslie Gonzalez
Connecticut College, StreetSquash

Juan Hurtado
Connecticut College, Squash Haven

Kimberly Lucero
Connecticut College, CitySquash

Alex Lorenzo-Cruz
Connecticut College, CitySquash

Rachel Matamoros
Connecticut College, Squash Haven

Tanya Mendoza
Connecticut College, CitySquash

Chris Meza
Connecticut College, Squash Haven

Alexander Navarro
Connecticut College, Squash Haven

Josiah Rondon
Connecticut College, Squash Haven

Jaz’mene Little
Denison University, Racquet Up Detroit

Antoinette Ramsey
Denison University, Racquet Up Detroit

Jocelyn Feliciano
Dickinson College, Squash Haven

Katelynn Young
Dickinson College, SquashSmarts

Raji Davenport
Hobart & William Smith, SquashDrive

Eric Molina
Hobart & William Smith, CitySquash

John Solano
Hobart & William Smith, CitySquash

Caleb Boateng
Middlebury College, CitySquash

Firdaus Shallo
Middlebury College, Urban Squash Toronto

Kyla Core
Mount Holyoke College, SquashSmarts

Janiqua Davis
Mount Holyoke College, Squash Haven

Xaria Durocher
Mount Holyoke College, Squash Busters

Tina Mei
Mount Holyoke College,  CitySquash

Ku Paw
Mount Holyoke College,  Capitol Squash

Promise Butler
St. Lawrence University, StreetSquash

Maury Escalona
St. Lawrence University, CitySquash

Tita Hicks
St. Lawrence University, CitySquash

Aaron Levy
St. Lawrence University, Racquet Up Detroit

Daniel Rosas
St. Lawrence University, CitySquash

Xitlali Zuniga
St. Lawrence University, CitySquash

Abigail Alemayeho
Stanford University, Access Youth Academy

Zeinab Bakayoko
Trinity College, StreetSquash

Joyce Chan
Trinity College, Access Youth Academy

Quinlan Jeudy
University of Rochester, StreetSquash

Mariya Novosad
Vassar College, CitySquash

Adriana Ordaya
Vassar College, Capitol Squash

Kevin Angulo
Wesleyan University, Squash Busters

Marangela James
Wesleyan University, Squash Busters

Julissa Mota
Wesleyan University, Capitol Squash

Shante Frank
William Smith College, Squash Busters

Giselle Ciriaco
Williams College, CitySquash